Archive for February 27, 2009

Facebook Chat Definies Friendship? I Don’t Think So.

facebook-chat-with-brian-copyThe idea of measuring an individual’s social network contacts and communication by a standard other than gross number of friends/contacts/connections (depending on the platform) intrigues me.  Via ReadWriteWeb I learned about this Economist report applying anthropologist Dr. Robin Dunbar’s theory of network growth to Facebook’s platform.  Excerpt from ReadWriteWeb:

How many friends can you really have on Facebook? According to Cameron Marlow, Facebook’s “in-house sociologist,” that number is four if you are male and six if you are female. As theEconomist reports this morning, Marlow’s research indicates that the average Facebook user has a network of about 120 friends, but only has two-way conversations with a very small subset of these ‘friends.’ Interestingly, even for those users who have a far larger number of friends (500+), those numbers barely grow (ten for men and sixteen for women).

Those numbers cited above are for friends that users actually email or chat with. When it comes to more casual one-way interactions like leaving comments on photos, status updates, or writing on somebody’s wall, those numbers increase slightly and the average male would then have seven friends on Facebook and the average female about ten.

As I also commented on ReadWriteWeb’s post, this is interesting information in application, and I would like to see this broken down by age demographic. I would venture to guess these numbers are much higher for younger verses older Facebook users.  I consider the high number of daily Facebook interactions I have, as compared to my mother who might have one every two weeks (We’re working on that! She’s requested on my next trip home I teach her to “Facebook better”).

As an early Facebook adopter and avid user, I think there’s also a layer missing here.  In regards to my closer friends, I definitely look at their content, and might make what this report considers “casual” contact (ex: commenting on their wall, photos or posted items), but for our significant communication I go to other mediums — either gmail, gchat, AIM, phone or text.

I communicate with people on Facebook chat or message because they are part of my less intimate network, and I generally don’t have other contact information for them that I use regularly (meaning that I probably wouldn’t text them on the phone number I got off their Facebook profile, or email them at the address their profile provides).  There are of course exceptions, but this is my general rule of thumb.  Honestly, I often turn off Facebook chat because it’s an inferior messaging service and anyone I really need to talk to has other, multiple means of contacting me.

So from my experience, the Facebook friends that I value the most, have the most personal communication with and who’s Facebook content I look at first, I rarely, if ever, communicate with in the manner this report uses to determine “friendship.”

(Thanks to OneSeventeen team member and Conversion Scientist, Brian Massey, for his help with the graphic!)

 Subscribe by reader or email

February 27, 2009 at 3:22 pm 4 comments


Welcome!

The OneSeventeen Media Blog provides the most recent information about our pursuit to provide kids with innovative solutions to help them navigate the complicated process of growing up. In addition to news, as social venture entrepreneurs, our blog also shares resources about the power of social media and highlights how other individuals and organizations are choosing to harness the power of business to solve social issues. Consider joining the conversation with us by subscribing by blog reader or email below.
r-word.org
twitter-do-you-follow-me
February 2009
S M T W T F S
    Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories

e_bcorp_logo_neg

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.