Why working for a B Corp is a great fit for working parents

February 16, 2015 at 2:50 pm Leave a comment

Vero-Post-Image-650x440

If you’re a parent, it’s likely that you’ve had that internal debate at the end of the parental leave about what your next professional steps should be.

While finishing my second maternity leave, I was looking forward to reintegrating into the workforce, but I also wanted to make it count. I had been working in a wonderful not-for-profit for over five years, but I was ready for my next challenge.

Truth is, I wanted to have it all. I wanted to be able to spend quality time with my two daughters, but I also wanted to expand my professional skill set and move up in my career.

While looking for a new job, I wondered many times if I was being too bold, or too selfish. Was it even remotely realistic to have a gratifying career and balance it with life at home with two kids under four years old? Should I put my career on the back burner, while I focus on my girls’ upbringing?

I didn’t give up my resolve, and eventually, I stumbled upon Top Drawer Creative. Perhaps what appealed to me most is the agency’s commitment to being a B Corp.

Being a B Corp means that a company has a high level of transparency, and offers a better way to do business, which ultimately benefits your professional career. B Corps also create higher quality jobs and improve the quality of life in our communities.

I knew that Top Drawer would have to walk the talk. They are serious about fostering rewarding careers, along with work-life balance for their employees. As a bonus, I’m proud to be able to reduce my carbon footprint, and take part in initiatives that make the world a better place for the next generation.

Since becoming an account manager at Top Drawer, I’ve been encouraged to grow – both professionally and as a human being. Employees here share recipes, work out tips and are encouraged to be physically active through a range of programs and incentives. Let’s face it: exercising at the end of the day or early in the morning before my children wake up is next to impossible, and if I have any energy left I want to use it for a good night sleep.

If you are a parent, I am sure you have been bombarded with articles convincing you that you can have it all, namely a great career and a wonderful personal life – the “work-life balance” that we should all be thriving in. But the reality is, it is very hard. I would be hypocritical in saying that I have found that perfect balance, but working in a B Corp has helped tremendously in making it a more realistic goal.

(This blog post originally created by Top Drawer Creative team member Vero Destrube, aspiring Supermom, one project at a time.  Top Drawer Creative and OneSeventeen Media are certified B Corps.)
Entry filed under: OneSeventeen Media, Women in Business. Tags: , , , , .

The Web is 25 Years Old Today Proud to be a #BCorp Best For The World Honoree

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

The OneSeventeen Media Blog provides the most recent information about our pursuit to provide kids with innovative solutions to help them navigate the complicated process of growing up.

Additionally, we're passionated women and social venture entrepreneurs, so our blog also shares resources about the power of women in business and highlights how other individuals and organizations are choosing to harness the power of business to solve social issues through B Corp certifications.

Consider joining the conversation with us by subscribing by blog reader or email below.

e_bcorp_logo_neg

